Asshole Doctors

Throughout the whole stim process, I have been nauseous. For the most part, this side effect has been manageable, but I mentioned it every single time I went to the RE’s office.  The IVF nurse just kept telling me that it is important to stay hydrated and that I should eat small, frequent meals.  OK, fine. When I was just nauseous and not actually throwing up, that solution seemed perfectly reasonable.

Friday night, the nausea got worse, but I still wasn’t throwing up.  Saturday morning, I felt a little better, but by Saturday afternoon, I was in full puke mode. It’s a little hard to stay hydrated and eat small, frequent meals, when you can’t keep anything down. After much googling to try and determine any possible detrimental effects on my follicles, I gave in and took a phen.ergan. Let me tell you, I was in a state of severe desperation by the time I took it.

Got some halfway decent sleep last night, but woke up really nauseous again this morning. At this point, I was faced with a dilemna…..either call the RE’s office or just continue to suck it up and run the risk that I would be really dehydrated by Monday morning. So, in an unusual move for me (I really try not to be the obnoxious patient who calls after hours), I called the RE’s office and spoke to the doctor on call (not my doctor), who was a total and complete ASSHOLE.

First, he told me that he was “just flabbergasted” that anyone would be nauseous during stims because he had just never even heard of that. Second, he told me that if I thought I needed to be treated for this, that I should go to the ER, which is not exactly a pleasant or easy task in post-K New Orleans.

I should have told him off. I should have pointed out to him that nausea and vomiting are specifically listed as a side effect of Follistim. I should have pointed at that for $15,000, he should personally bring some phen.ergan or zo.fran to my house and give it to me.

Instead, I thanked him for his time, hung up the phone, and started bawling my eyes out. Not just because this doctor was such an ass, but because this whole damn process sucks. I am frustrated that I have to do this.  I am frustrated that I feel like crap.  I am scared that it may not work. And now, I am angry because you would think that with all the $$$ that this doctor makes off IVF, that he could at least pretend to care about the patients.

One Response to “Asshole Doctors”

  1. SaraS-P Says:

    That just sucks!

    And I totally understand your hesitation to even attempt an ER visit in New Orleans.

    I have never done IVF, but the process is just so complicated and stressful, the last thing you need is some asshole making you feel worse!

Leave a Reply

