Post-Retrieval Catch-up

For anyone who might be reading this, I did actually manage to make it to the retrieval.  The whole nausea/throwing up bit was definitely rough over the weekend and on Monday, but I was not canceled. I was, however, so dehydrated when I got to the hospital on Tuesday (my clinic does all retrievals and transfers at the hospital next door), that it took two nurses and an anesthesiologist four tries to get my IV started.  They ended up using a neonate needle.  Yes, my poor veins were so withered from dehydration that they needed a needle small enough for a newborn baby. Maybe you should have helped me out when I asked, Asshole Doctor! (Note: I do not think it is a coincidence that the offending doctor’s last name rhymes with POO.)

Anyway, the neonate needle was sufficient to deliver plenty of sedation followed by lots of fluids post-retrieval.  Upon arriving home yesterday, I began eating everything in sight, so clearly the nausea has passed.

And now for the news everyone is waiting on (or at least DH and I)….

16 eggs were retrieved and as of this morning, 11 had been fertilized.

I am trying not to get too excited; a lot can happen between now and the five-day transfer. But really, I can’t help myself.  I am excited and I am hopeful.  I am sure this will bite me in the ass soon. The reality is that I had prepared myself for much lower numbers.  For both the retrieval and the fertilization, I had numbers in my mind and as long as we were above those numbers, I would not let myself worry.  The fact that our number of fertilized eggs is above my bottom threshold for acceptable number of eggs retrieved is wonderful, but frightening.

More tomorrow!

One Response to “Post-Retrieval Catch-up”

  1. sarasp Says:

    I am excited for you! I am hoping for great progress with those eggs!

Leave a Reply

