Lupron, Day #1

This morning I headed to the RE’s office to get an ultrasound and learn how to inject myself with Lupron.  Since the vaginal ultrasound is old hat at this point, the exciting part of the visit was definitely going to be playing with needles. Nurse Red (the IVF nurse with spunky red hair) told me that my endometriomas are, indeed, still present, but haven’t grown much and should not present a problem. What was curious about the ultrasound was that my lining was thick (13.2 mm).  I have never had a lining that thick and Red made a comment to that effect.  So, a blood test was ordered to make sure that I am not pregnant (as if) before I started the Lupron.  As a result, Red and I only got to practice filling the syringe and locating the appropriate spot for injection. She told me that as soon as she got the test results, she would call me and I could go ahead and inject myself.  She also told me that if I was scared to do it for the first time, I could come back to the clinic and she would walk me through it.  I really like her.

Anyway, shockingly, the pregnancy test was negative, so at 12:48 pm on August 29, 2007, I gave myself my very first injection of Lupron. I picked my right thigh, based on the fact that I am right-handed (easy access) and I am sitting at my desk at work. Pushing the hem of my skirt up a bit seemed a lot easier than undressing to the point necessary to reach my stomach.

I am sure that it seems very weird to most of you that I did this at work. I work in a very small office…1 other full time person besides myself, 1 person who works 4 days a week, and 1 person who works about 2 days per work (plus the boss/dad of course).  Everyone here knows what’s going on with me.  Sometimes I wish that wasn’t the case, but in an office this small it is pretty hard to keep anything a secret.  Beyond that, I had the Lupron with me and just wanted to get it over with!

I feel remarkably proud of myself right now.

One Response to “Lupron, Day #1”

  1. Schatzi Says:

    Congrats on getting started! It will make it easier for you since everyone there knows what is going on. At least you won’t be sneaking around like I have had to do.

    Good luck!

Leave a comment